We Report, You Decide

PCI sub-commitee to address safety of journalists

Hyderabad: The Press Council of India (PCI) has appointed a six member sub-committee to examine the issue of safety of journalists.

K Amarnath, Secretary of the Indian Journalists Union (IJU) and member of the Press Council, has been appointed as the convener of the sub-committee. The other members of the sub-committee include: Sanjay Dina Patil, MP (LS), Anil Jugal Kishore Agrawal, Arvid S Tengse, Sanjay Gupta and Dr R I Lakshmipthi.

In a letter to the Chairman of the Press Council of India in August, IJU President S N Sinha and Secretary-General Devulpalli Amar had requested to appoint a sub-committee of the Press Council of India to examine safety and protection of journalists in the country and to suggest special law in this regard at the national level.

"The working journalists in the country are worried over the lack of their safety and protection while discharging their duties. The sense of disquiet and apprehension is heightened after the cold-blooded murder of Jyotirmoy Dey, editor, Special-Investigations, of the Mid Day daily in Mumbai on June 11," the letter had stated.

You might also like

Comments are closed.