Oommen Chandy sworn in as Kerala CM

Thiruvananthapuram: Senior Congress leader Oommen Chandy was on Wednesday sworn in as the 21st Chief Minister of Kerala at the Raj Bhavan here.

Along with Chandy, six floor leaders of the UDF coalition were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor R S Gavai at the lawns of the Raj Bhavan.

The UDF unseated CPI(M)-led LDF by securing a thin majority of 72 seats in the 140-member House after April 13 Assembly polls.

Those sworn in as ministers were P K Kunhalikutty (IUML), K M Mani (Kerala Congress-M), K P Mohanan (SJD), T M Jacob (Kerala Congress-J), K B Ganesh Kumar (Kerala Congress-B) and Shibu Baby John (RSP-B).

The ministry will be expanded on May 23 with the induction nine Congress nominees, three representatives of IUML and one more from Kerala Congress (Mani).

Chandy`s predecessor and CPI (M) veteran V S Achuthanandan, KPCC president Ramesh Chennithala, Union ministers Mullapally Ramachandran and K C Venugopal were among those who attended the ceremony.

A large number of people from different parts of the state turned up to witness the swearing-in.

Chandy is becoming Chief Minister for the second time after an interim term in 2004-06.

The UDF had yesterday wrapped up an agreement with its partners on sharing the ministerial berths and portfolios.