NBW against Jayalalithaa stayed

Cuddalore (Tamil Nadu): A court here has stayed a non-bailable warrant (NBW) issued by a lower court against Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa in a case relating to her filing nominations for 2001 Assembly elections.

Principal Sessions Judge K Uthirapathy stayed the June 2011 order issued by the Parangipettai Judicial magistrate till January 19, 2012 even as Supreme Court had ordered status quo in the case in 2007.

The matter relates to a case filed by the Returning Officer of the Bhuvanagiri Assembly constituency for alleged violation by Jayalalitha in filing nominations from Andipatti, Krishnagiri, Bhuvanagiri and Pudukottai constituencies ahead of the 2001 elections.

Former DMK MP C Kuppuswamy had moved the Madras High Court seeking action against her holding that she had filed nominations from more than two constituencies.
The HC had in 2007 directed the Election Commission to file cases in relevant courts.

Jayalalithaa moved the Supreme Court which stayed proceedings. However, Judicial magistrate R Komathy had ordered issue of NBW against her for non-appearance in court in June 2011. She had stayed the NBW, but did not exempt Jayalalithaa from peronal appearance.

When the matter came up before the magistrate early this week, the magistrate insisted on Jayalalithaa`s appearance. The AIADMK supremo subsequently moved the Principal Sessions Judge in Cuddalore on Thursday, seeking a stay on the lower court order and praying for the withdrawal of the NBW.

Government pleader Charlesraj filed a petition before the Principal Sessions Judge stating since the the apex court had stayed criminal proceedings against the Chief Minister, and prayed for stay of the lower court order, seeking that the NBW be withdrawn.