Joshi among 15 LS members elected to new PAC team

New Delhi: Murli Manohar Joshi, the chairman of the outgoing Public Accounts Committee, is among the 15 Lok Sabha members elected to the prestigious Parliamentary panel for its next term.

Among the fresh faces in the new PAC, which will begin its one-year term from May 1, are former Union minister Shashi Tharoor and T K S Elangovan (DMK).

While 10 members of the outgoing committee continue to be part of the new panel, Jagdambika Pal, K Sudhakaran, K Samba Siva Rao – all Congress, Rewati Raman Singh (SP) and Adhi Shankar (DMK) are not part of it.

They have made way for Tharoor, Ashok Tanwar and Sarvey Sathyanaranan – all Congress, Elangovan (DMK) and Dharmendra Yadav (SP). An election was averted as 15 nominations were received for as many vacancies in the Lok Sabha.

A similar exercise for seven Rajya Sabha seats is expected later this month.

As Chairman of the 2011-12 PAC, Joshi had circulated the controversial draft report of the panel on 2G issue to the members of the outgoing committee, terming it as "unfinished agenda" of the 2010-11 committee, when the report could not be adopted following fierce opposition by Congress members.