Jayanthi named JPC member

New Delhi: Congress spokesperson Jayanthi Natarajan was on Tuesday named a member of the JPC into the 2G spectrum scam after her colleague Abhishek Singhvi recused himself taking the plea that he had appeared for cellular operators in the court as a senior advocate.

The announcement about Natarajan`s inclusion was made by Telecom Minister Kapil Sibal who moved the motion for formation of the JPC in the Rajya Sabha.

A former Union Minister, Natarajan is an advocate and is the Congress spokesperson for a number of years.

Singhvi, earlier recused himself from the JPC, saying "I had appeared as a senior advocate in the court for cellular operators and had attacked the telecom policies from 2002 to 2004 when Pramod Mahajan, Arun Shourie and Ram Vilas Paswan were telecom ministers (in the NDA government)." Singhvi is also a Congress spokesperson.

Other members whose names are proposed are P J Kurien and Praveen Rashtrapal from Congress, Sitram Yechury from CPI-M, Tiruchi Shiva from DMK, S S Ahluwalia and Ravi Shankar Prasad from BJP, Y P Trivedi from NCP, Satish Chandra Mishra from BSP and Ramchandra Prasad Singh from Janta Dal United.