Govt names 11 ministers to articulate views better

New Delhi: Caught in a quagmire of various controversies, government on Thursday appointed a panel of ministers to better articulate its position and get its point across on a host of issues.

The panel of 11 minsters, a mix of youth and experience, would be available for interaction with the media in the capital as also during their visits throughout the country.

Young ministers Jyotiraditya Scindia, Sachin Pilot, Jitin Prasada, Milind Deora, R P N Singh and M M Pallam Raju are part of the panel. It also includes Krishna Tirath, D Purandeshwari, Ajay Maken, Rajiv Shukla and Ashwani Kumar are other members on the panel.

The ministerial panel has been set up at the suggestion of the Group of Ministers on Media, chaired by Home Minister P Chidambaram.

"Media has grown and it is difficult for one or two ministers to interact with every media organisation," officials said adding that the additional panel would help put across the government view more effectively.

The appointment of the panel comes at a time when the goverment appears to grapple a host of issues like the controversial decision to allow FDI in retail, the creation of separate Telangana.