Delhi, UP police chiefs yet to submit property returns

New Delhi: Delhi Police Commissioner B K Gupta and UP DGP Brij Lal figure on a Ministry of Home Affairs list of 864 IPS officers who have failed to submit their Immovable Property Returns (IPR) for the year 2010.

Suspended Gujarat IPS officer Sanjiv Bhatt, who has openly revolted against Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Kumar Modi, also figures on the list displayed on the Home Ministry website.

The list, which has names of more than one-fourth of sanctioned strength of 3393 officers, also names Punjab Director General of Police P S Gill, Additional Director General of Jammu and Kashmir Police K Rajendra and Deputy Inspector General of Police Kashmir Abdul Gani Mir as the officers who have not submitted their IPR for 2010.

Bihar tops the list of defaulting IPS officers as 92 of of a sanctioned strength of 156 have not submitted the list where as Andhra Pradesh had an outstanding of only seven IPS officers out of 185 who have failed to provide the information.

Uttar Pradesh, which has a sanctioned strength of 335 IPS personnel, also has an outstanding of 92 officers who have not submitted their IPR.

The Home Ministry had begun the process of asking the IPS officers to submit their IPR latest by January 31 this year which was later extended to September 20 and finally October 10.