Congress wins Udupi-Chikmagalur LS seat

Udupi: In a setback to the ruling BJP in Karnataka, the Congress today wrested the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat from it with party candidate K Jayaprakash Hegde emerging victorious in the bypoll by a margin of 45,724 votes.

Hegde, a former minister, defeated his nearest BJP rival V Sunil Kumar in a loss of face to BJP as the constituency was represented by D V Sadananda Gowda before becoming the Chief Minister.

Hegde secured 3,98,723 votes as against 3,52,999 by Sunil Kumar. The electoral loss for BJP comes at time when the party is in a turmoil following the revolt led by B S Yeddyurappa for his reinstatement as Chief Minister.