Civic by-polls: BJP wins two wards; Congress, AAP lead in four

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won two wards and the Congress and the AAP are leading in four wards each as counting of votes cast in bypolls to 13 wards in three civic bodies got underway here on Tuesday.

B. M. Bhandari of the BJP won from Shalimar Bagh by 1,451 votes while Krishan Gehlot won from Nawada by 4,883 votes.

Congress candidates were leading in Khichripur, Kamruddin Nagar, Munirka and Jhilmil wards while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was leading in Matiala, Tehkhand, Ballimaran and Vikas Nagar.