BJP takes surprise lead in Uttarakhand result

Dehra Dun: Surprising pollsters, the ruling BJP today bagged 11 seats taking a narrow three seat lead over Congress as the two parties were locked in an intense see-saw battle in Uttarakhand.

However, Uttarakhand Chief Minister B C Khanduri was trailing behind S S Negi of Congress in Kotdwar seat by 3400 seats.

Among the seats which BJP bagged are Sitarganj and Nanakmatta while Congress has so far won 8 seats winning from Haldwani and Almora constituencies. According to available trends, the BJP has a narrow lead over the Congress.

The BJP opened its account from Sitarganj seat in Kumaon region when the first result went in its favour after its candidate Kiran Chand Mandal bagged the seat.
BSP has won two seats and was leading in 2 others.

Uttarakhand Kranti Dal-Panwar (UKD-P) was leading in one seat while others were ahead in the rest of the five seats. The trends suggested that both the ruling BJP and Congress were in close fight which might throw a hung assembly.

Congress leader Indira Haridayesh wrested Haldwani seat from BJP by defeating Renu Adhikari. State BJP president Bishan Singh Chufal was leading by 688 votes from Didihaat constituency. PCC chief Yashpal Arya was also leading by 1000 votes from Baajpur seat.