AAP announces first list of 19 candidates in Punjab

New Delhi: The AAP on Thursday announced its first list of 19 candidates for Punjab’s upcoming assembly elections, the most prominent figure being noted Supreme Court lawyer H.S. Phoolka.

Phoolka, who lost the Lok Sabha election of 2014 from Ludhiana, will contest from Dakha constituency in Ludhiana district, said the Aam Aadmi Party, which has emerged as a major player in the state.

The candidates are a mix of lawyers, activists, a former MP, sportsmen, an ex-serviceman, a doctor, an engineer and traders.

Among the other candidates are lawyer Himmat Singh Shergill (Mohali), Harjot Singh Bains (Sahnewal), Goving Singh Shampura (Fatehgarh Churian), ex-Brigadier Raj Kumar (Balachur) and former MP Mohan Singh Phalianwala (Ferozepur Rural).

The AAP’s entry has made the Punjab elections, expected to be held early next year, a three-way affair for the first time. The other two main contenders are the ruling Akali Dal-BJP coalition and the Congress party.