930 candidates in fray for Nashik civic body poll

Nashik: As many as 930 candidates, including 645 women, are in the fray for elections to Nashik Municipal Corporation (NMC).

Elections for the 122-member NMC will be held on February 16. Saturday was the last day of withdrawal of nominations after which 930 candidates remain in the fray, NMC sources said today.

Sitting NCP Corporator from Ward No 29 Sanjay Chavan has not withdrawn his nomination, indicating he will be contesting at as a rebel candidate against official party nominee Gajanan Shelar, who is NCP`s city unit President.

Shiv Sena`s Ranjit Nagarkar, who is NMC Standing Committee Chairman, Congress` Gurmit Singh Bagga, Ramesh Jadhav, Ankita Wavre, Sena`s Lata Handore, Dilip Dateer, BJP`s Madhukar Hingmire, MNS Corporator Sheela Bhagwat, among others, are also contesting elections as rebel candidates.

Meanwhile, supporters of Sanjay Chavan and Gajanan Shelar clashes on Saturday. Police intervened and immediately brought the situation under control. No complaint has been filed by either side in this regard, police said.