We Report, You Decide

42 file nominations for Presidential election

New Delhi: As many as 42 contestants have filed their nominations for the July 19 Presidential election in which UPA nominee Pranab Mukherjee is pitted against Opposition candidate P A Sangma. The election to the top post in the country is slated for July 19 and the result would be out on July 22. The term of the present incumbent Pratibha Patil ends on July 24.

A total of 65 nomination papers from 56 persons were received by V K Agnihotri, the returning officer for the election, till today which was the last date for filing nominations. Sixteen applications were rejected as the applicants did not fulfill the basic requirement — certified copy of the electoral roll of the Parliamentary constituency in which the candidate is registered as a voter.

The 49 valid nomination papers will be taken up for scrutiny on July 2 and the shortlisted candidate will have the option to withdraw till July 4. The electoral college comprises 4,896 members — 776 Members of Parliament and 4,120 Members of Legislative Assemblies, including those of Delhi and Puducherry. The total value of their votes is 10,98,882 with that of MLAs being 5,49,474 and that of MPs being 5,49,408.

Congress and its allies, including Trinamool Congress, constitute the UPA account for over 4.60 lakh vote value. BJP-led NDA has over 3.04 lakh vote value. The `others`, including parties like Samajwadi Party, BSP and the Left, have over 2.62 lakh vote value. Nominated members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state Assemblies are not entitled to vote.

You might also like

Comments are closed.