We Report, You Decide

‘Miss Lovely’ gets best Indian film award at MFF

Mumbai: Director Ashim Ahluwalia's 'Miss Lovely' won best film award and Hansal Mehta's 'Shahid' won in the runner-up category at the closing ceremony of the 14th Mumbai Film Festival here.

In the newly introduced competition section for Indian feature films 'India Gold', director Ashim Ahluwalia's 'Miss Lovely' was announced as the best film here last night.

The film also won the Reliance Media Works CreaTech (Creativity & Technology) award at the festival, organised by the Mumbai Academy of Moving Image (MAMI).

Hansal Mehta's real life drama 'Shahid' won the runner-up award for best film. The special jury award was given to Manjeet Singh for 'Mumbai Cha Raja'.

At the function held at the National Centre for Performing Arts (NCPA) here, veteran actress Waheeda Rehman was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for an Indian personality. The award was given by filmmaker and MAMI chairman Shyam Benegal.

"I am thrilled to receive this award from MAMI. I dedicate it to the directors, producers, co-actors, technicians who have been a part of this journey with me," Waheeda said.

Meanwhile, in the International Competition category for the first feature films of directors, 'Aqu? Y Alla' (Here And There) was recognised as the best film.

Dwight Henry got the best actor award for 'Beasts of the Southern Wild' and best actress award was given to Julia Garner for 'Electrick Children'.

The jury award of technical excellence was awarded to Pankaj Kumar for 'Ship Of Theseus' while Musa Sayeed was given the special jury award for the film 'Valley Of Saints'.

In the 'Celebrate Age' category, 'Night Boats' was adjudged the best film while 'The Delay' was the runner-up and 'Ping Pong' received special mention by jury.

Dimensions Mumbai, a short film competition segment that featured works by young Mumbaikars below the age of 25 years depicting aspects of life in the metropolis, announced 'Local' by Bharat Singh Pawar as the best film in the category.

The runner-up award was given to 'Aakhon Dekha Haal' by Sudhanshu Prakash Sawant.

Films 'Bombay Kulfi' by Vaibhav Hiwase and 'Karwaa' by Errol Peter Marks and Aaditya Sawant received the special mention by the jury.

The eight-day cinematic extravaganza concluded with the India premiere of 'Blancanieves', a film by renowned Spanish director Pablo Berger.

The event was graced by celebrities like Shyam Benegal, Shobha De, Prachi Desai, Goldie Behl, Ila Arun and Kajal Agarwal among others.

Read Our Next Story