‘Argo’, Daniel Day-Lewis win top SAG awards

Los Angeles: Ben Affleck's hostage drama 'Argo' added another trophy to its collection of awards this season by winning the best film ensemble at the 19th Screen Actors Guild Awards where Daniel Day-Lewis and Jennifer Lawrence were recognised in the acting categories.

The film, which revolves around CIA's attempt to free six US diplomats during the 1979 Iranian hostage crisis, is critics favourite to win some major trophies at the upcoming Oscars where it has seven nominations. 'Argo' has already won two Golden Globes.

"I'm really amazed and stunned," Affleck said while accepting the trophy.

Lawrence was named outstanding film actress for her performance in 'Silver Linings Playbook'. The young actress thanked director David O Russell and co-star Bradley Cooper for helping her in her performance.

The film also stars Indian actor Anupam Kher as Dr Cliff Patel. Kher was nominated along with the star cast of 'Sliver Linings Playbook' in the best film ensemble but the award went to 'Argo'. Other nominees were 'Les Miserables', 'Lincoln' and India-shot drama 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel'.

Day-Lewis, who has won SAG trophies for his previous movies 'There Will Be Blood' and 'Gangs of New York', was named the outstanding film actor for his memorable turn as the 16th US President Abraham Lincoln. The Steven Spielberg directed movie is leading this year's Oscars with 12 nods.

The British actor had initially rejected the role thinking an American actor should play Lincoln. He thanked his director and Leonardo DiCaprio, who convinced him to reconsider his decision.

The political drama won another trophy with Tommy Lee Jones winning the award for best actor in a supporting role for his performance as Congressman Thaddeus Stevens.

Anne Hathaway continued her winning streak by getting named as the best supporting actress for her turn as fallen woman Fantine in musical 'Les Miserables'.

Accepting her first SAG Award, Hathaway said, "I'm just so thrilled I have dental."

Hathaway has already won a Golden Globe trophy besides winning a nomination at the Oscars in the supporting category.

Televising drama 'Downton Abbey' won in the dramatic series ensemble category. Bryan Cranston earned his first SAG Award, as dramatic TV series actor, for playing the meth-dealing Walter White in 'Breaking Bad'.

Claire Danes, who previously won a Golden Globe, received the dramatic TV series actress award for 'Homeland'.

Both Alec Baldwin and Tina Fey won the best actor and actress in a comedy show award for their series '30 Rock'.

'Modern Family' took home the prize for comedy ensemble for third year in a row.

Julianne Moore, who had already won an Emmy and a Golden Globe for playing Sarah Palin in 'Game Change', picked up the SAG Award for actress in a TV movie or miniseries while Kevin Costner won the best actor role for his turn in 'Hatfields & McCoys'.

Baldwin presented SAG's Life Achievement Award to veteran actor Dick Van Dyke.

The 87-year-old actor is known for his roles in films like 'Bye Bye Birdie', 'Mary Poppins' and 'Chitty Chitty Bang Bang' and TV series 'The Dick Van Dyke Show' and 'Diagnosis: Murder'.