Met dept issues thunderstorm, lightning alert for 15 districts


Bhubaneswar: The regional centre of India Meteorological Department (IMD) in Bhubaneswar has issued lightning warning for 15 districts of Odisha till 5:30 PM today.

The warning was issued after satellite images of Doppler Weather Radar indicated thunderstorm with lightning and heavy rainfall at one or two places over the districts.

The alert has been sounded for Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Balasore, Bhadrak, Angul, Jajpur, Nayagarh, Kandhamal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Khurda, Jagatsinghpur and Dhenkanal districts.

People in these areas have been advised to stay indoors and take shelter in nearby buildings and other safe locations.

Meanwhile, the State Government has taken an initiative to tackle lightning deaths. People will soon receive lightning alert on their mobile phones by means of Multimedia Messaging Service (MMS) or voice message.

It may be mentioned that Odisha has registered 20 per cent lightning deaths of the country till date.

Below is a list of the deaths recorded in various districts across the State.

“Our engineers have been instructed to install lightning conductors at all the school buildings and other offices under Rural Development department. Installation of lightning conductors should be ensured at all buildings, temples, government offices and residential apartments,” said Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) Bishnupada Sethi.

You might also like